The Versatile Blogger Award

image2161

I’m very honored that Belsbror has nominated me for this Award. As I understand it, it’s given to people who truly love their blogging experience. Belsbror is a good example of this himself. He sees the unique in the ordinary and he writes about it in evocative ways that mirror his visions. His allusions to diverse concepts in the titles of his posts always intrigue me and draw me in to read more and more of them. I hope you’ll take the time to visit his excellent blog at: http://belsbror.wordpress.com/. It’ll definitely be worth your time to visit this extraordinary blogger and artist. Thank you so much, Belsbror, for this award. I’m very grateful and I wish the best to you in your continuing endeavors.

As usual there are rules to this award and I’ll list my version of them now.

  1. Post the rules and the Award badge on your site

  2. Make a post thanking the person who nominated you and provide a link to their site

  3. Write 7 things about yourself

  4. Nominate 15 other bloggers you think deserve this award

I’ll start with the hardest one for me, listing 7 things about myself.

  1. I think Redwoods may be my favorite trees, but it’s hard to say for sure

  2. I live in a wonderful home with my partner in a quiet part of the city

  3. I love mushrooms but I don’t collect them because I don’t know enough

  4. I have a 40 acre homestead in the Okanogan Highlands of Eastern WA

  5. I used to be a producer, booking agent and manger of musicians many years ago

  6. I created a non-profit educational center and hosted many classes in healing there

  7. I’m a bit of a goof, sometimes 😉

I’d like to say a few things about these awards before I go further. This is the 3rd one I’ve received in just 2 months and I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed by them. I have another one waiting for me to do also. I’m very honored to get these awards and I try my best to follow the rules and do the work of connecting other people to new bloggers and turn them on to new ideas and thoughts. I think this is a great thing to do. But I know a lot of people don’t like the awards and I’ve had very mixed results myself in nominating others for them. I’d say maybe ½ of the folks I’ve nominated have never even acknowledged the award and some have even deleted my nomination post to them. Others have just thanked me and said they don’t accept awards. I understand the latter, but I don’t the former. I wish that people would at least say “thanks but no thanks” if they don’t want an award instead of leaving me in confusion and wonderment about whether I offended them or what. It’s hard on a sensitive guy like me to have this happen. I do these awards to try to compliment other bloggers for their work and I don’t fault those who don’t participate. But I’d really like to know what’s happening with the ones who don’t say anything to me about them. OK, enough said. Now on to the nominations…

My 15 nominees are all excellent bloggers who truly do love their work in the blogging world. I appreciate all these sites and more besides, but I’ve already nominated many people I like and I don’t want to overwhelm them so I’m offering a new set of folks to you here than I have in the past. I really like all these blogs and feel that they love what they do and present a blog that engages others and makes them think about new ideas and concepts and gives them a sense of the beauty we all share in this world. It’s an honor to nominate you all and as always it’s up to you if you want to accept the award or not. I just want you to know I appreciate your work and think it’s wonderful and that you deserve recognition. I hope you will follow the rules and accept it but if not that’s cool. Regardless, you have my heart felt congratulations. Thanks for an excellent blog and for offering me a glimpse into your diverse worlds of wonder. All the best to all of you. Thank you for being so loving in your presentations.

Garden Variety: http://gardenvarietynews.wordpress.com/

The Ancient Eavesdropper: http://tylerpedersen02.wordpress.com/

The Not so Secret Life of a Manic Depressant: http://zedmondson.wordpress.com/

Mightwar: http://mightwar.com/

Ray Ferrer, Emotion on Canvas: http://urbanwallart.wordpress.com/

Green Grows Dark: http://greengrowsdark.wordpress.com/

The Loquacionist: http://theloquacionist.wordpress.com/

Lorraine Reguly’s Life: http://lorrainemariereguly.wordpress.com/

Butterflies and Gardens: http://butterfliesandgardens.wordpress.com/

The Violet Fern: http://thevioletfern.com/

Making the Invisible Visible: http://maketheinvisiblevisible.wordpress.com/

Gardening Tips For All: http://gardeningtipsforall.wordpress.com/

Getting Naked: http://owlofknowledge.com/

Walk with me on my Journey of Illness to the Road of Happiness and a Life of Fulfillment: http://tlohuis.wordpress.com/

Twng32: http://twng32.wordpress.com/about/

So that’s it. I hope you will go to these delightful bloggers and check out their sites. I’ve followed most all of these folks for at least awhile and have enjoyed what I’ve read and feel that they all love what they do, for various reasons. Some have a burning desire to share what it’s like to be ill in some way and some offer us the joys of gardening in diverse fashions. Some may present other things as well, like travel and photography and visiting the world and showing us things that we might not interact with on our own. This is a wonderful gift these folks are giving to the WordPress Community and I thank them all for being here sharing with us! Peace and love to you all!

Steve

21 responses to this post.

  1. Well done Steve. Not only have you held up well under the demands of 3 awards in 2 months, but you managed to rejuvenate and refresh each award, before returning it to the WordPress stream in better shape than you received it! Now that is at least worth honorable mention, If not an award in itself!!
    Dan

    Like

    Reply

    • Thank you Dan. That’s very kind of you to say. I hope I wasn’t too intense and I wish I’d said something about community and the awards. Maybe next time… 😉
      Cheers,
      Steve

      Like

      Reply

      • No,, It was perfect!
        Dan

        Like

        Reply

        • Oh good. Thanks for that feedback. It’s so hard to know how people will take what you write. I don’t mean offense, just information sharing….
          Steve

          Like

          Reply

          • Yes! We are always sticking our necks out to some degree. I find it a little unnerving sometimes. I thought the way you refocused the awards was very timely and thoughtful. I think they start blurring into something generic after they get passed around for a while. If no one stops and tweaks them, I think they would just lose steam, meaning, and momentum.

            Like

            Reply

            • I quite agree with your assessment. It is unnerving at times and I always worry that I’ve hurt someone’s feelings or offended them. I’m too sensitive… 😉 I’m glad you like my tweaking and I hope that whoever originated this award approves. I just want to keep these relevant and I think they are. We must all do our parts…
              peace,
              Steve

              Like

  2. And 8. You are great. Happy New Year!!! 🙂 !!!

    Like

    Reply

  3. Congrats! You deserve it:-)

    Like

    Reply

  4. Oh I appreciate the award, I have not ignored your nomination from a few weeks ago, will address later, but may change the rules like Lonnie from Belmont Rooster……just keep on trucking…gradening-lol…by the way did Belmont Rooster move to another place. I tried to go to his website and it was gone, sure hope he is not gone:-) enjoyed his posts + his generous heart to others.

    Like

    Reply

    • Oh, it’s not people like you Robbie. We even had a discussion about it. I meant the ones who never even said Hi or acknowledged my post. You actually talked to me… 😉 As for Lonnie, I don’t know what’s happened to him. I wrote him an email and it was returned to me so I’m at a loss. I hope he’s not gone but just taking a break or something. He’s a wonderful person and if he’s gone I’ll miss him a lot…
      Thanks for visiting me,
      Steve

      Like

      Reply

  5. Dear Steve,

    Thank you for your generosity and your gift; it’s very much appreciated.

    I’ll see what I can do about putting an awards post together as my illness daily affects my ability to see and move, so things are always slow in the processing.

    I agree that recipients should at least thank the person who nominated them – even if they don’t go in for the follow up process. It’s basic good manners after all. And whether or not you’re into the whole thing, someone has taken the time to highlight your blog and bring it to the attention of other potential readers. And we all like the idea that our work is being read, right?

    What I particularly liked about your post was the way that you explained what draws you to your nominations. Learning a little bit about the blogs’ content and what it is you enjoy about them gives the reader an indication of whether they too might be suited. For me, there are times that another’s description can send me investigating something I wouldn’t ordinarily seek.

    P.S.: I’m with you on the Redwoods. I just love their grandeur and they remind me of three months spent working beneath their embracing shade: a summer that truly changed my life.

    Like

    Reply

    • Dear Mightwar,
      Thank you for your thoughtful comments. I appreciate your health situation and would expect you to only do what you are comfortable with. It’s Your award and you can use the rules as you are able to. I’m very grateful for the thanks and your words about saying a bit about what I like about the blogs. I think turning people on to new bloggers is the main reason I do this, that and to thank them for being so cool and doing such a good job of this work. The Redwoods have changed my life as well, from the first time I saw them I was in love… I’m glad you feel the same. 😉 I hope you enjoy the visits you get from this award and that you find a few sites that you like as well.
      All the best to you, and thanks for accepting the award in your own way… as always, you’re a model of a good blogger…
      Steve

      Like

      Reply

  6. Thank you so much! I’m sick right now so I wont’s be able to post about it for a while. But just to let you know you’ve made my day a litlle better 🙂 Hugs

    Like

    Reply

    • I always love it when an award I’ve posted gives joy to others. I’m sorry you’re feeling unwell. I understand that, and hope you will take the time you need to follow this award. It’s up to you how you handle it, so do it so it’s not a strain on you.
      Great to see you here!
      Steve

      Like

      Reply

  7. Hello Steve, I’m sorry I haven’t done anything about my Dragons Loyalty nomination from you – YET! – it is a busy time all round, and I want to think about it creatively, also. But thank you! and I really like the way you warm the principle up with everyone. It is as you say, a way for our community to keep in touch, and discover each other. I wonder how the weather you’ve been having is shaping your garden?

    Like

    Reply

    • No problem Jane. Take your time and do the kind of job you do so well on it. I’m sure it’ll be lovely, as all your work is. You’re very welcome and I thank you for accepting the award. I like turning people on to new ideas and people and the awards allow me to do that in a good way. As for the weather and my garden, we had a deep freeze awhile back that turned a lot of plants black but they’re coming out now again. We’re lucky here to have such clement weather for the most part. It’s a haven for gardens of all sorts but especially Ericaceous and woodland type plants. The maritime climate we have here is perfect for so many plants it’s amazing. I’m very lucky to live here…
      peace,
      Steve

      Like

      Reply

  8. […] Steven from Gardening In Greenwood has so thoughtfully nominated me for the Versatile Blogging Award. […]

    Like

    Reply

  9. […] Steven from Gardening In Greenwood has so thoughtfully nominated me for the Versatile Blogging Award. […]

    Like

    Reply

Please share your thoughts...

Sum Ego Invicte

I Am Unconquered

Old School Garden

my gardening life through the year

A Tramp in the Woods

A nature diary from the Forest of Dean.

MOONSIDE

TRIUMPH OF SPIRIT IN LOVE, NATURE & ART

Phoenix - The Rebirth of My Life

Raise mental illness awareness. Stop the stigma. Save a life.

iiThinks

Poetry of the Soul

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

Uncle Tree's House

Putting music to words, and words to pictures ~

Forest Garden

Tips, tricks, and tools for gardening in a forest community

Nodus Tollens

Insanity is relative

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

May your own personal Creator

Bring peace and good well to you and Mother Earth the rest of our lives!

bloomingspiders

Spinning truth to net hearts

Jnana's Red Barn

Come view the world from my loft

Dawne Enlightened

Loving Myself to Overcome Abuse & Violence

Infinitefreetime.com

The website of Luther M. Siler, Author/Editor/Curmudgeon

Art Attack

Discovering art in everything

Source of Inspiration

All is One, co-creating with the Creator

ronfeir

Riveting Real Estate & Fine Living Content from Las Vegas!!!

twng32

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

Crooked Tracks

Minnesota nature and photography

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Social Action 2014

http://www.scoop.it/t/one-child-at-a-time

In the Wake of Suicide....trying to understand

I trust in you, O' Lord, my Savior, the One who died and rose again…. the One who brought me in and will carry me out, the Almighty waters and tides that bring us life. I come to You when there is no where else to turn, I come to You when there is. I look to You as my guiding Light, my Savior…. the One who created all I see- created my life and dreams before I knew myself~ created my talents and style before I knew the value~ I praise You and adore Your mystery. I will be strong and conquer as You would want for me. I beg of your blessings and miracles even though I am unworthy of Your power…. Yet, I trust in You~ and know You have already begun Your work. I love You. I don't know if that is a good enough word, "love"~ But I know You on a level---beyond words. Save me Lord. I will not let go of You. Hear me O' Lord. In Christ's Powerful Name Amen ~ By Brandon Heath

Garlic Celery Carrots

Adventures in Urban Farming

Jardin

Transform your outdoor space

HEALTHYfashionista

where natural health and fashion merge

Colorado Plateau Gardening & Horticulture

About the Past, Present, and Future of Farming on the Colorado Plateau

The Militant Negro™

Poetry. Politics. Food. Art. Thoughts. Ideas. Opinions. Facts. Truth.

The Artistic Spider's Web

Catching Only The Best

Megan Has OCD

About Mental Health, Daily Struggles, and Whatever Else Pops in My Head

Invisible Disease

Mental Disease, Ministry & Life

omtatjuan

My Path is No Better Than Yours... It's A Path.

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Official Blog For Mental Health Project

Making mental health everyone's concern

Not Another Gardening Blog

Yes indeed another gardening blog.......a Designer's Perspective.

Looking for reasoning to a complicated world

THE MAN WITH HIS FINGER ON THE PULSE OF REAL OR ALTERNATIVE NEWS, WORLDWIDE, BRINGING YOU THINGS YOU NEVER KNEW

Madeleine Moments

Time Lost, Time Regained

Friendly Fairy Tales

Fairy Tales and Poetry Celebrating Magic and Nature for Kids of all Ages

Eddie Two Hawks

Plant the seeds of peace within yourself, watch them grow in the world

"A Curious Mind"

We Need To Open Our Eyes To The World Around Us... . . . . . . . . . ♥ "Poetry" & "The World Around Us".. . and some ☺ . ..

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

The Demons Of My Insane Sanity

WE ARE THE AUTHOR OF OUR OWN LIFE: SO LET'S MAKE OUR STORY ROCK! – S.L.EDAGO

THE UNFETTERED FOX

Curious facts and cautionary tales ~ adventures in rural living

The Frustrated Gardener

The life and loves of a time-poor plantsman

