The Shauny Award

shaunya

I’d like to thank Tamara of My Botanical Garden for my nomination for the Shauny Award. This is a new award and I’ll talk about it in a minute. But first a few words about Tamara. I’ve been following her blog for some time and I really enjoy it a lot. She has a philosophy I can really relate to in presenting her Botanical Garden. She sees them Everywhere and if it’s beautiful it’s a Garden to her. Or that’s how I see it in her posts at least. They are varied and beautiful and cover a wide range of plants as well as other topics. I highly recommend you visit her at: http://mybotanicalgarden.wordpress.com/ and see her work. I think you’ll be very impressed, as I am. I thank you so much for this award, Tamara, and wish you all the best in your future blogging endeavors.

This award was recently originated by Dr. Rex in late November of last year (see: http://hrexach.wordpress.com/2013/11/25/a-new-blogging-award-has-been-created-the-shauny-award-for-blogging-excellence/ ). She saw something in Shaun Gibson of Scotland that everyone who visits his site sees. A wonderful and generous man who researches his subjects well, covers a broad range of topics in his blog, and embodies the principles of this Award so well. You can see his blog at: http://prayingforoneday.wordpress.com/2013/11/26/the-shauny-award-for-blogging-exellence/. I hope you’ll visit these sites and see why this award was created and enjoy Shaun’s work. Shaun says this award is for Blogging Excellence and he chose the rules for this it. I’ll post them now. They’re quite unique:

  1. Show humanity, show love, be yourself, don’t be others, don’t gossip, and then share with 10 others.

I try my best to embody the tenets of this award in my life and in my blogging. I hope that this is seen in my work here on WordPress and to those who know me in my life outside of cyberspace. I think these are maxims to live by and they aren’t always as easy to pull off as it might seem. But it’s worth the effort to do so because what else is there if we don’t love, and show our humanity and honesty to others? What’s the point? Being oneself is critical to my way of thinking if we want to be real, and that’s always been a big goal of mine. It’s a constant bit of work but that’s because we’re all complicated people and have many facets to our personalities. I tend to show different parts of myself to different people, depending on the situation. I’m very versatile in that way. That’s why I have 2 blogs on here, one for my world of Gardening, and one for my inner world at Naked Nerves, which is much more intense and deeper in its portrayal of my energies and ways of being. In both of these blogs I try to follow Shaun’s advice to show humanity, be myself and be real, not to gossip and to show Love most of all, towards myself and my topics, and towards those who visit me and read my posts. I dunno if he wanted us to talk about oursleves but it seems necessary to do so if we want to show how we’re following Shaun’s rules. I hope I haven’t blathered on too long but I felt it was important to say these things. Now, on with the program, more or less…

There are a lot of people I could nominate for this award. But in the last 2 months I’ve already received 3 awards and the folks I most want to award this to have already been nominated by me for other awards and I really don’t want to overwhelm anyone, or give an award that’s not desired. No offense meant. In fact I mean it as a compliment to you. I’ll make my list but I won’t be contacting people as I usually do. So if you see your name here and want to accept this award please do. If you don’t want it then that’s fine too. I just want, as always, to honor you for your wonderful blogs and to thank you for being so good to me and to the overall community for your excellent and continuing efforts to make this place interesting and alive with thought and possibilities. I think all these blogs show excellence. They make me feel good about blogging. I know there are many people who deserve this award and hopefully it’ll continue to spread. I hope I help do that even if my way is a bit different. So here are my 10 nominations and I do hope you’ll go to visit them and see their diverse and inspiring blogs:

  1. White Rabbit’s Gallery: http://hakescafe.com/

  2. Apothecarys Garden: http://apothecarysgarden.com/

  3. Palm Rae Urban Pottager: http://palmraeurbanpotager.com/

  4. The Belmont Rooster: http://thebelmontrooster.wordpress.com/ (deleted, but I love and miss it… and he deserves the honor)

  5. Mix and Match Meme: http://mixandmatchmeme.wordpress.com/

  6. This Time, This Space: http://thistimethisspace.com/

  7. Cancer Killing Recipe: http://cancerkillingrecipe.wordpress.com/

  8. Jane Adams Art: http://janeadamsart.wordpress.com/

  9. The Jiggly Bits: http://thejigglybits.com/

  10. Bipolar Codex: http://bipolarcodex.wordpress.com/

I sincerely hope that the folks I’ve nominated for this award are pleased to receive it, even if they don’t want it or feel overwhelmed by too many awards, as I seem to be feeling myself right now. I think the awards are a very good way to meet new bloggers yourself and to introduce them to your circle of followers and friends. They help to build the community here by our connections and interactions. I mean no dishonor to them by my way of doing this award. Maybe I’m overreacting but I doubt it. I’ve talked to some of these folks and I know they feel similarly, as do many others I’ve been in contact with recently. I’m very grateful for being nominated for these awards but I think maybe I’ll take a bit of a break from them now. If I get another one I will do my best to honor it but I may just say Thanks but no thanks as so many others do. I understand now why they do that. It makes me a bit sad but I came here to blog about my life and garden, not to be honored for it. I get good feedback from the people who read my blogs and I’m very grateful to all of you who are reading this now. I hope you’ll be back to visit me again, and I promise to get back to blogging about my garden as soon as I think of a new topic… 😉

All my best to Shaun and Tamara and to the incredible bloggers I’ve named above.

Peace to you all,

Steve

PS. Please see next post for more information on this Award. Thanks…

17 responses to this post.

  1. Excellent!! Very well done. Thank you for the mention.
    Be well and successful!!
    Hugs ….

    Like

    Reply

  2. I had no idea, wow…what a compliment coming from a great blogger! You made my day! Now I have to post this on my page + get to talk all about how wonderful you are:-) I am really sad about Belmont Rooster—he is deeply missed by many I have no doubt

    Like

    Reply

    • I’m so glad you’re pleased. Feel free to write whatever feels right to you in doing the award in your own inimitable style. 😉 I know what you mean about Lonnie. It’s very sad to me also… I thought he still deserved mention…
      Steve

      Like

      Reply

  3. What a great idea for an award, well done Steve! SD

    Like

    Reply

  4. Oh,,,,, :-), I missed this particular post Steve, but backtracked to it from your addendum to it. Why thank you my friend! I know none of this was easy for you given the stream of recognition that has come your way recently. So thank you. Thank you for doing such an excellent job accepting this award, presenting it, and passing it forward. I love the thoughtfulness you put into these things, how you always strive to make sure they are at their best before you pass them forward, always seem to give more than you get and leave things in better shape than you received them. I think there should be an award for people who relate to life that way, because if everyone did, the world would be transformed for the better very quickly. (Don’t worry, I’m not hiding another award for you under my sleeve! haha! (Poor you :-)!! ) I think you need a bit of a break from awards!
    I believe I have some catching up to do now. Thank you so much for thinking of me in the context of this award Steve. I feel flattered and honoured. And no, it’s no burden.

    Like

    Reply

    • Whew! What a great comment Dan. Thank you for your kind words and keen insights. I’m so glad you feel good about this award. I’m very relieved… I think it’s a charming award and you embody it’s merits so well, as you do in your comment here. You’re such a genuine person. Your words bring tears to my eyes… I sincerely appreciate all the generous things you say about me. I could easily echo them back to you! I guess I do reflect a bit of burnout with awards right now, but it’ll pass I’m sure. I’m ready to be a simple gardener again for awhile… 😉 And… without any desire for it myself, I think you’ve come up with a great idea for a new award. The “Leave it Better” award maybe? (You’ll have a better name I’m sure…) Maybe you should start one yourself… That’s how it begins I guess. One person’s wild idea. We all build this place together and it’s a pleasure building this community with you. Thanks for being such a good friend and companion on this journey of blogging we’re taking!
      Peace,
      Steve

      Like

      Reply

  5. Oh Steve, I’m just doing a bit of catching up and I find here your nomination for me – thank you so much, I am very touched. Perhaps this is the real meaning of the awards, to keep reminding ourselves of each other, and of others whom we don’t know yet, or haven’t yet visited: and to keep it open and fresh; then it doesn’t matter if we nominate our favourites repeatedly – it is a visiting opportunity . I hope you are having a good day. All my very best! and peace – Jane

    Like

    Reply

    • You’re most welcome for the award Jane. I think your blog is great and I want to thank you for your wonderful work. My view of the awards mirrors your own. It’s a great way to meet new folks and to maintain and build relationships with those you’ve come to know and respect. Thanks for the good wishes and I hope you’re having a wonderful day yourself!
      Peace and happiness to you,
      Steve

      Like

      Reply

  6. Steve, I am very touched by your kind words, and I am happy to see I’ve done it a good way, to make my readers see the intriguing something more in the connection of nature, art, society……..something more to show humanity, show love, be yourself ….
    All the best from Ljubljana,
    Tamara

    Like

    Reply

Please share your thoughts...

Sum Ego Invicte

I Am Unconquered

Old School Garden

my gardening life through the year

A Tramp in the Woods

A nature diary from the Forest of Dean.

MOONSIDE

TRIUMPH OF SPIRIT IN LOVE, NATURE & ART

Phoenix - The Rebirth of My Life

Raise mental illness awareness. Stop the stigma. Save a life.

iiThinks

Poetry of the Soul

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

Uncle Tree's House

Putting music to words, and words to pictures ~

Forest Garden

Tips, tricks, and tools for gardening in a forest community

The Tropical Flowering Zone

Photographic Journals from the Tropics

Nodus Tollens

Insanity is relative

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

May your own personal Creator

Bring peace and good well to you and Mother Earth the rest of our lives!

bloomingspiders

Spinning truth to net hearts

Jnana's Red Barn

Come see the world from my loft

Dawne Enlightened

Loving Myself to Overcome Abuse & Violence

Infinitefreetime.com

The website of Luther M. Siler, Author/Editor/Curmudgeon

Art Attack

Discovering art in everything

Source of Inspiration

All is One, co-creating with the Creator

ronfeir

Riveting Real Estate & Fine Living Content from Las Vegas!!!

twng32

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

Crooked Tracks

Minnesota nature and photography

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Social Action 2014

http://www.scoop.it/t/one-child-at-a-time

In the Wake of Suicide....trying to understand

I trust in you, O' Lord, my Savior, the One who died and rose again…. the One who brought me in and will carry me out, the Almighty waters and tides that bring us life. I come to You when there is no where else to turn, I come to You when there is. I look to You as my guiding Light, my Savior…. the One who created all I see- created my life and dreams before I knew myself~ created my talents and style before I knew the value~ I praise You and adore Your mystery. I will be strong and conquer as You would want for me. I beg of your blessings and miracles even though I am unworthy of Your power…. Yet, I trust in You~ and know You have already begun Your work. I love You. I don't know if that is a good enough word, "love"~ But I know You on a level---beyond words. Save me Lord. I will not let go of You. Hear me O' Lord. In Christ's Powerful Name Amen ~ By Brandon Heath

Garlic Celery Carrots

Adventures in Urban Farming

Jardin

Transform your outdoor space

HEALTHYfashionista

where natural health and fashion merge

Colorado Plateau Gardening & Horticulture

About the Past, Present, and Future of Farming on the Colorado Plateau

The Militant Negro™

Social Justice. Food. The Arts. Thoughts. Ideas. Opinions. Facts. Truth.

The Artistic Spider's Web

Catching Only The Best

Megan Has OCD

About Mental Health, Daily Struggles, and Whatever Else Pops in My Head

Invisible Disease

Mental Disease, Ministry & Life

omtatjuan

My Path is No Better Than Yours... It's A Path.

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Official Blog For Mental Health Project

Making mental health everyone's concern

Not Another Gardening Blog

Yes indeed another gardening blog.......a Designer's Perspective.

Looking for reasoning to a complicated world

THE MAN WITH HIS FINGER ON THE PULSE OF REAL OR ALTERNATIVE NEWS, WORLDWIDE, BRINGING YOU THINGS YOU NEVER KNEW

Madeleine Moments

Time Lost, Time Regained

Friendly Fairy Tales

Fairy Tales and Poetry Celebrating Magic and Nature for Kids of all Ages

Eddie Two Hawks

Plant the seeds of peace within yourself, watch them grow in the world

"A Curious Mind"

We Need To Open Our Eyes To The World Around Us... . . . . . . . . . ♥ "Poetry" & "The World Around Us".. . and some ☺ . ..

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

The Demons Of My Insane Sanity

WE ARE THE AUTHOR OF OUR OWN LIFE: SO LET'S MAKE OUR STORY ROCK! – S.L.EDAGO

THE UNFETTERED FOX

Curious facts and cautionary tales ~ adventures in rural living

