Wild Ginger and CA Dutchman’s Pipe

The Aristolochiaceae is a very interesting family. To me the two most well known members of this family are both growing in my back yard right now. Both of them have extremely fascinating flowers. I’ve tried to give you a glimpse of what they look like here. Both are very unique and unusual. I like that a lot about them. And they’re also useful.

The first is the Wild Ginger, or Asarum caudatum. It grows wild in the wet forests of the Pacific Northwest and there’s also a related species called Asarum canadensis that grows in the middle of the country and north into Canada, as the name implies. Dan Riegler at Apothecary’s Garden has some great recipes on how to make wild ginger candy. You can see his recipe for his candied Ginger here: http://apothecarysgarden.com/recipes-2/candied-wild-ginger-a-recipe-from-fresh/.

My patch doesn’t look that great right now at the end of winter and is just starting to put on new growth. The flowers can barely be seen in a couple of these shots and you can see how very weird they look. I love the deep burgundy color and the “wings” it has on the sides of the flowers. I’m not sure what they’re called but they look cool to me.

The other notable plant in this family is the California Dutchman’s Pipe. I showed it earlier when it was just starting to bud out and promised I’d show it in bloom, so here it is. I’ve tried to get shots of the whole vine in one picture with others of a closeup of the flowers themselves. They’re quite interesting and unique aren’t they? They really do look like a pipe don’t they?

They call it insectivorous even tho they don’t actually eat insects. They do entice them to crawl down into the flowers tho and pollinate them and then they release the bugs to go on their way. A very civilized system of pollination I’d say. These grow as tremendous vines in wetlands in California. I’ve seen them there and their swamps are very cool and weird too. They can cover large areas and I saw a particular place in their range where the Forest Service had built a walkway over the water so we could walk among them. Very cool.

So that’s it. A simple post for a change. Just wanted to show these extraordinary plants while they were in bloom and looking good. I don’t have enough ginger to really try Dan’s recipe yet but some day I hope to be able to. It sounds too good to miss out on and having unusual foods in my own garden is really wonderful. I hope you’ve enjoyed this mini tour of some unusual plants.

Happy gardening!

Steve

26 responses to this post.

  1. None of your posts are ever simple. They are always informative and easy to understand by the non-gardeners. πŸ™‚ And lovely pictures too.
    Put that in your pipe…….

    Like

    Reply

  2. I enjoy this “simple” post, with a visit to two special plants. In the ginger flower photo, and those the ginger-plant stems, those long ones to the right?

    Like

    Reply

    • Yes they are the stems. I did a pretty poor job of whacking them off but they were taking over my Daphne! They’re coming back out now as you can see by the left of the flower. I’m glad you enjoyed this post.
      Thanks for visiting me,
      Steve

      Like

      Reply

  3. Posted by Cedar on April 2, 2014 at 7:04 pm

    What interesting flowers……thank you for this post.

    Like

    Reply

  4. ohhhh..I am so excited to see if My “dutchman pipe’ survived the winter. I have wanted to get this going for a few years. I purchased some plants last year, but the drought may of nipped them as well as something nibbling on the in the garden. I sure hope they survive. Don’t they attract the swallow tail or maybe it was a different one. I will get new plants if they don’t survive…yours look so neat! The wild ginger looks interesting ,too…candy from it! hmmmm where can I tuck that in:-) p.s. I knew we were kindred spirits, I love your bamboo fence! I enjoy the bamboo as a backdrop to some of my gardens:-)

    Like

    Reply

    • Hi Robbie, I hope your Dutchman’s Pipe makes it thru the winter too. Mine is going on 4 years now from a liner, and it’s really blooming up a storm this year. Some of the flowers are so tiny and others so large it’s amazing. Yes they do attract the Swallowtail butterfly but I don’t think we have them around here. At least I haven’t seen any. The ginger is a wonderful plant but it tends to spread petty well so give ti more room than I did πŸ˜‰ I wish I had enough to make Dan’s candied ginger recipe. That’d be cool! I’m glad you like the bamboo fence too. We love it and as a backdrop for the plants it can’t be beat. It looks so organic and natural.
      Thanks for all your comments,
      peace,
      Steve

      Like

      Reply

      • I’ll keep you posted on my Dutchman Pipes. Does it come out early spring? Sorry to ask so many questons, I really want it to grow here. You have it on a bamboo fence, so do I-tee hee

        Like

        Reply

        • Yes they come out early. Mine is in full bloom right now and had buds bursting for a month or more. I really hope yours is able to grow on your bamboo fence. They look really nice on the bamboo! And they Love a lot of water too btw… so keep it damp. πŸ˜‰
          peace,
          Steve

          Like

          Reply

  5. Nice post Steve! Love you Dutchman’s Pipe! We have a native Dutchman’s Pipe here in the Appalachian’s, Aristolochia macrophylla, which as you can guess by the name, has large leaves so the flower is usually hidden by them! πŸ™‚ But I guess the caterpillars love to eat the leaves, so I guess the plant has adapted to it’s role in nature and is being hospitable to it’s guest. πŸ™‚ I’ve always wanted to try growing ginger, but sadly we are in too cold a climate. Yours are awesome. We used to get them at the garden center and I was so tempted to purchase one and bring it home with me, but I’m not a big fan of having house plants, so I behaved myself and held back. I’ll just be content with admiring yours. πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply

    • Thanks Annie. That’s cool you have another species where you are. I didn’t know about it. Too bad the leaves cover the flowers cause they’re so interesting. It’s so cool how we learn about new plants from each other isn’t it? I love these “backyard” chats we have.;) I love the ginger too and am lucky we can grow it here. It’s native in the mountains here so it’s no surprise we can do it here in the lowlands. Check out Dan’s post on Candied ginger too. He has some good pictures of ginger in the wild, the hardier form… It’s a cool post he did.
      Thanks for visiting me!
      peace,
      Steve

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  6. So interesting! I have both these plants in my garden although the hardy Canadian kind. I read the flowers of the wild ginger evolved to attract spring emerging flies looking for carrion – not very romantic – but I love this plant and it’s unique flowers. I have yet to see my Dutchman’s Pipe flower – the leaves are so dense that I will have to look in close this year. I find it curious that you have so many flowers on yours and barely a leaf! I love the large heart-shaped leaves – one of my absolute favorites! I still have snow covering most of the garden. It’s been a trying, long wait this Spring.

    Like

    Reply

    • That’s great you have both of these in your garden too, Kathy. I didn’t know the ginger had evolved like the Dutchman’s pipe to attract carrion and insects. It’s a weird family isn’t it? Pretty cool tho. I’ve always had more flowers on my Dutchman’s pipe than leaves it seems, tho later on the leaves are predominate. I’ve never seen so many blooms on it at once before tho so it’s growing well. It started out as a simple little twig I didn’t think would even grow, but it sure likes it where I have it with lots of water. I wish you the best of luck with yours and hope it blooms so that you can see it this year. πŸ˜‰
      all the best,
      Steve

      Like

      Reply

  7. Posted by The Editors of Garden Variety on April 3, 2014 at 8:32 pm

    Very unusual looking plants but that is why I find them intriguing.

    Like

    Reply

  8. Steve, whether complex or simple, your posts are rich with information–so … to me, it don’t matter. πŸ™‚ Your garden is springing! I’m going to try growing ginger. You have inspired me to begin gardening. Can’t promise I will succeed. lol. Thank you for sharing… XXOO πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply

    • I think ginger is a great plant to grow. I’ve done it in the past and it’s a cool thing. Not too hard to do either. Thanks for your visit and I wish you all the best in your new gardening efforts! πŸ™‚
      cheers,
      Steve

      Like

      Reply

  9. Thanks for the thorough information you provide us here. Your blog is outstanding.
    Best wishes, Aquileana πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply

Please share your thoughts...

Sum Ego Invicte

I Am Unconquered

Old School Garden

my gardening life through the year

A Tramp in the Woods

A nature diary from the Forest of Dean.

MOONSIDE

TRIUMPH OF SPIRIT IN LOVE, NATURE & ART

Phoenix - The Rebirth of My Life

Raise mental illness awareness. Stop the stigma. Save a life.

iiThinks

Poetry of the Soul

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

Uncle Tree's House

Putting music to words, and words to pictures ~

Forest Garden

Tips, tricks, and tools for gardening in a forest community

Nodus Tollens

Insanity is relative

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es SΓ³lo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

May your own personal Creator

Bring peace and good well to you and Mother Earth the rest of our lives!

bloomingspiders

Spinning truth to net hearts

Jnana's Red Barn

Come view the world from my loft

Dawne Enlightened

Loving Myself to Overcome Abuse & Violence

Infinitefreetime.com

The website of Luther M. Siler, Author/Editor/Curmudgeon

Art Attack

Discovering art in everything

Source of Inspiration

All is One, co-creating with the Creator

ronfeir

Riveting Real Estate & Fine Living Content from Las Vegas!!!

twng32

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

Crooked Tracks

Minnesota nature and photography

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Social Action 2014

http://www.scoop.it/t/one-child-at-a-time

In the Wake of Suicide....trying to understand

I trust in you, O' Lord, my Savior, the One who died and rose again…. the One who brought me in and will carry me out, the Almighty waters and tides that bring us life. I come to You when there is no where else to turn, I come to You when there is. I look to You as my guiding Light, my Savior…. the One who created all I see- created my life and dreams before I knew myself~ created my talents and style before I knew the value~ I praise You and adore Your mystery. I will be strong and conquer as You would want for me. I beg of your blessings and miracles even though I am unworthy of Your power…. Yet, I trust in You~ and know You have already begun Your work. I love You. I don't know if that is a good enough word, "love"~ But I know You on a level---beyond words. Save me Lord. I will not let go of You. Hear me O' Lord. In Christ's Powerful Name Amen ~ By Brandon Heath

Garlic Celery Carrots

Adventures in Urban Farming

Jardin

Transform your outdoor space

HEALTHYfashionista

where natural health and fashion merge

Colorado Plateau Gardening & Horticulture

About the Past, Present, and Future of Farming on the Colorado Plateau

The Militant Negroβ„’

Poetry. Politics. Food. Art. Thoughts. Ideas. Opinions. Facts. Truth.

The Artistic Spider's Web

Catching Only The Best

Megan Has OCD

About Mental Health, Daily Struggles, and Whatever Else Pops in My Head

Invisible Disease

Mental Disease, Ministry & Life

omtatjuan

My Path is No Better Than Yours... It's A Path.

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Official Blog For Mental Health Project

Making mental health everyone's concern

Not Another Gardening Blog

Yes indeed another gardening blog.......a Designer's Perspective.

Looking for reasoning to a complicated world

THE MAN WITH HIS FINGER ON THE PULSE OF REAL OR ALTERNATIVE NEWS, WORLDWIDE, BRINGING YOU THINGS YOU NEVER KNEW

Madeleine Moments

Time Lost, Time Regained

Friendly Fairy Tales

Fairy Tales and Poetry Celebrating Magic and Nature for Kids of all Ages

Eddie Two Hawks

Plant the seeds of peace within yourself, watch them grow in the world

"A Curious Mind"

We Need To Open Our Eyes To The World Around Us... . . . . . . . . . β™₯ "Poetry" & "The World Around Us".. . and some ☺ . ..

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

The Demons Of My Insane Sanity

WE ARE THE AUTHOR OF OUR OWN LIFE: SO LET'S MAKE OUR STORY ROCK! – S.L.EDAGO

THE UNFETTERED FOX

Curious facts and cautionary tales ~ adventures in rural living

The Frustrated Gardener

The life and loves of a time-poor plantsman

