Solstice Greetings!

IMG_4420

As of a few hours ago the Wheel turned once more and we moved from the waning light to its joyous return. In a few days we’ll be able to see that the days are starting to get longer, something which every gardener longs for at this time of year. We have few plants to enliven our gardens with color now tho a few things do bloom still.

But mostly it’s the time of evergreens, and so we decided to do something a bit different as well as our usual house lights and the Holiday Tree and all. This year we decorated the little Cryptomeria Vilmoriana on our front porch. It greets all out visitors as they come up the steps to our front door. I think it looks great with the little bulbs on it. Not the usual tree to decorate but who cares? It still works for us.

As well as enjoying the conifers and other evergreens in the garden right now, it’s also time to be looking at seed catalogs now and dreaming of what we’ll plant in the spring. And how we’ll be sure to do it right this year and not make the same silly mistakes we did last time, right? I’m sure I won’t do the same foolish things I did last year, will I? I hope not… 😉

I hope you’re all enjoying this relative down time for us gardeners and relish the seasons delicacies that still turn up now and then. Like the “Charity” Mahonia I have that’s been blooming its bright yellow flowers for months now it seems. And the Winter Daphne that’s just starting to bud out in preparation for its so fragrant blooms.

I’m ready for a change already and it’s just Solstice today. I guess I’m impatient, but then I know I’m not really. I just love to see things growing and find the fallow time more difficult. Going within to the darkness of winter is always hard on me and I miss the ability to put my hands in the dirt as often as I’d like to. Time to get into the greenhouse and work there I guess.

So I wish you all a very Merry Solstice and a Happy New Year, and hope that all your gardening dreams come true for you this year. It’s a special time of openness and it’s good to be open to what Nature has to offer, even in this season of cold and darkness. There’s still the Return of the Light and it’s happening now. So go enjoy it!

May this Season of Lights be bright for you and yours,

Steve

8 responses to this post.

  1. And a wonderful xmas and new year to you both, Steve. Nature opens and then gives.

    Like

    Reply

  2. What a great little tree! Merry Solstice and Blessings throughout the coming year.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Just beautiful + perfect for this time of year! Merry Christmas to you , and a Happy New Year…spring will be even closer when we get to January!

    Like

    Reply

    • Thank you! It’ll be a few days til we see the days getting longer but you’re right that Spring is just around the corner. Now we just have to get thru January… 😉
      Best of the Season to you!
      Steve

      Like

      Reply

  4. Wishing you a bright and inspired new turn of the wheel Steve, and much dirt under your fingernails till spring. Enjoy your greenhouse. I’m a little envious of it. It is such a bright inviting space, full of possibility and promise! Like a solar panel for the soul… (a soular panel).:-)

    Like

    Reply

    • Egualmente, Dan. I love your new word – the “Soular panel”! What a great concept for a greenhouse! It’s a great place to recharge and enjoy the plants in their new lives. Very healing… I hope you can build one for yourself one day soon.
      Wishing you lots of dirt under the nails yourself! 😉
      Peace,
      Steve

      Like

      Reply

Please share your thoughts...

Sum Ego Invicte

I Am Unconquered

Old School Garden

my gardening life through the year

A Tramp in the Woods

A nature diary from the Forest of Dean.

MOONSIDE

TRIUMPH OF SPIRIT IN LOVE, NATURE & ART

Phoenix - The Rebirth of My Life

Raise mental illness awareness. Stop the stigma. Save a life.

iiThinks

Poetry of the Soul

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

Uncle Tree's House

Putting music to words, and words to pictures ~

Forest Garden

Tips, tricks, and tools for gardening in a forest community

Nodus Tollens

Insanity is relative

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

May your own personal Creator

bring peace and good well to you and Mother Earth the rest of our lives!

Jnana's Red Barn

A Space for Work and Reflection

Dawne Enlightened

Loving Myself to Overcome Abuse & Violence

Infinitefreetime.com

The website of Luther M. Siler, Author/Editor/Curmudgeon

Art Attack

Discovering art in everything

Source of Inspiration

All is One, co-creating with the Creator

ronfeir

Riveting Real Estate & Fine Living Content from Las Vegas!!!

twng32

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

Crooked Tracks

Minnesota nature and photography

Dreamwalker's Sanctuary

A Sanctuary for Enlightenment and Peace through Poetry and Inspirational Thoughts as we go through Life

Social Action 2014

http://www.scoop.it/t/one-child-at-a-time

In the Wake of Suicide....trying to understand

I trust in you, O' Lord, my Savior, the One who died and rose again…. the One who brought me in and will carry me out, the Almighty waters and tides that bring us life. I come to You when there is no where else to turn, I come to You when there is. I look to You as my guiding Light, my Savior…. the One who created all I see- created my life and dreams before I knew myself~ created my talents and style before I knew the value~ I praise You and adore Your mystery. I will be strong and conquer as You would want for me. I beg of your blessings and miracles even though I am unworthy of Your power…. Yet, I trust in You~ and know You have already begun Your work. I love You. I don't know if that is a good enough word, "love"~ But I know You on a level---beyond words. Save me Lord. I will not let go of You. Hear me O' Lord. In Christ's Powerful Name Amen ~ By Brandon Heath

Garlic Celery Carrots

Adventures in Urban Farming

Jardin

Transform your outdoor space

HEALTHYfashionista

where natural health and fashion merge

Colorado Plateau Gardening & Horticulture

About the Past, Present, and Future of Farming on the Colorado Plateau

The Militant Negro™

Poetry. Politics. Food. Art. Thoughts. Ideas. Opinions. Facts. Truth.

The Artistic Spider's Web

Catching Only The Best

Megan Has OCD

About Mental Health, Daily Struggles, and Whatever Else Pops in My Head

Invisible Disease

Mental Disease, Ministry & Life

omtatjuan

My Path is No Better Than Yours... It's A Path.

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Official Blog For Mental Health Project

Making mental health everyone's concern

Not Another Gardening Blog

Yes indeed another gardening blog.......a Designer's Perspective.

Looking for reasoning to a complicated world

THE MAN WITH HIS FINGER ON THE PULSE OF REAL OR ALTERNATIVE NEWS, WORLDWIDE, BRINGING YOU THINGS YOU NEVER KNEW

Madeleine Moments

Time Lost, Time Regained

Friendly Fairy Tales

Fairy Tales and Poetry Celebrating Magic and Nature for Kids of all Ages

Eddie Two Hawks

Plant the seeds of peace within yourself, watch them grow in the world

"A Curious Mind"

We Need To Open Our Eyes To The World Around Us... . . . . . . . . . ♥ "Poetry" & "The World Around Us".. . and some ☺ . ..

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

The Demons Of My Insane Sanity

WE ARE THE AUTHOR OF OUR OWN LIFE: SO LET'S MAKE OUR STORY ROCK! – S.L.EDAGO

THE UNFETTERED FOX

Curious facts and cautionary tales ~ adventures in rural living

The Frustrated Gardener

The life and loves of a time-poor plantsman

